Advocacy & Public Policy

The Chapter Advocacy Task Force (CATF) informs, empowers, and mobilizes chapter leaders to advocate for health information and technology public policy at the state, provincial, and local levels. HIMSS welcomes all chapter leaders, regardless of role, to participate.

HIMSS's key public policy priorities: Interoperability; Connected Health; Cybersecurity & Privacy

How can chapters advocate and work with government? To name a few...

  • Hold an Advocacy Day and allow your members to meet with their legislators at the State Capitol
  • Invite government officials, staff, and partners to chapter events
  • Educate membership on advocacy priorities
  • Recognize a government official for their contributions
  • Request a proclamation from the Governor's office to declare State Health Information and Technology Day

First time Chapter Advocate or need a refresher? Click here to get started.

See below to identify your advocacy region and your Chair and Regional Vice Chair and to the right for additional resources, including advocacy toolkits, meeting information, recognition opportunities, and public policy news and resources. 

Participate in monthly interactive CATF meetings to stay engaged and learn from your peers. 


 


Ian Slade, Chapter Advocacy Task Force and Southern California chapter leader, speaks on the value of chapter advocacy.


Chapter Advocacy Regional Map

CATF Leaders and Mentors FY21 - FY22

Task Force Leaders are experienced chapter advocates who volunteered to mentor advocates, moderate discussions, and advance Task Force strategy with the HIMSS Government Relations team. Contact your Chair or Regional Vice Chair for any questions or mentorship on advocacy. Learn more about your Task Force Leaders. 


Chair: 
Ian Slade, Southern California Chapter
ian.slade@itconsultinggrp.com
 



Vice Chair, Western Region:
Amanda Bergamo, New Mexico Chapter 
Amanda.Bergamo@UnityBPO.com





Vice Chair, Eastern Region
Ed Grogan, Maryland Chapter
Ed.Grogan@jhmi.edu 




Vice Chair, Midwestern Region:
Jim Kamp, Michigan Chapter
Jim.Kamp@altarum.org



Vice Chair, Southern Region
Nasim Rezanejad, Houston, Texas Chapter
nasim.rezanejad@yahoo.com


 

 

Additional advocacy mentors available:

General Inquiries? Contact Evan Dunne at Evan.Dunne@himss.org or Alana Lerer at alana.lerer@himss.org.